Print this page
Cluzel (WSS) and Savadori (STK1000) on Pole in Assen

Cluzel (WSS) and Savadori (STK1000) on Pole in Assen

Written by  on Saturday, 18 April 2015 13:22

Jules Cluzel (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) will start tomorrow’s fourth round of the World Supersport Championship from Pole Position after a closely fought qualifying session at the 4.542km TT circuit in Assen saw him edge current championship leader Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) by 0.137s.

The pair will be joined on the front row of the grid by American PJ Jacobsen (Kawasaki Intermoto Ponyexpres) who will be aiming to make it three times onto the podium in 2015.

For Cluzel it was his third Pole Position of the year and the Frenchman is hoping that the bad luck he has suffered in the last two races is well and truly behind him.

Row two comprises Kyle Smith (Pata Honda World Supersport Team), the Englishman hoping to give the Dutch team something to smile about in their home race. Lorenzo Zanetti (MV Agusta Reparto Corse) will start fifth alongside a rejuvenated Christian Gamarino (Go Eleven Kawasaki) who achieved a career best qualifying position in sixth.

Kevin Wahr (SMS Racing Honda) claimed his best qualifying position of the year in twelfth, a fraction behind Thai winner Ratthapark Wilairot (CORE Motorsport Thailand Honda) who suffered another crash during the session, to leaving himself with work to do from eleventh on the grid.

FIM World Supersport Championship Assen - Qualifying
1 - Jules Cluzel MV Agusta Reparto Corse 1'38.015
2 - Kenan Sofuoglu Kawasaki Puccetti Racing +0.137

3 - PJ Jacobsen Intermoto Ponyexpres Kawasaki +0.229

Record lap gives Savadori STK1000 Pole in Assen

Pole Position for the second FIM Superstock 1000cc race of the season at Assen has been taken by Lorenzo Savadori (Nuova M2 Racing Aprilia) who stormed to the top spot courtesy of the best ever STK1000 lap of the legendary Dutch track – 1.36.998, to claim his second Pole Position in a row.

The remaining two places on the front row of the grid for tomorrow's 14 lap race were claimed by Raffaele de Rosa (Althea Racing Ducati) and round one winner Roberto Tamburini (Team MotoxRacing BMW) who left it late to move into contention after a record breaking session that saw the top-4 swap positions on more than twenty occasions during the 30 minutes.

Row two will see Florian Marino (MRS Yamaha) who fell without injury towards the end of qualifying, Ondrej Jezek (Triple-M by Barni Ducati) and Kev Coghlan (MRS Yamaha).

FIM Superstock 1000 Cup Assen - Qualifying
1 - Lorenzo Savadori Nuova M2 Racing Aprilia 1'36.998
2 - Raffaele De Rosa Althea Racing Ducati +0.319
3 - Roberto Tamburini MotoxRacing BMW +0.402


Wally Nesbitt

/ This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Related items