Cryderman wins the PBSS Championship for Second Consecutive Year Photo Credit: Brennan Shortall ~

Cryderman wins the PBSS Championship for Second Consecutive Year

Written by  on Wednesday, 10 September 2014 16:53

GRAND BEND, ONTARIO (September 10, 2014) – For the first time in its history, the Pro Bike & Sled Series has declared a repeat champion.

Taking back to back titles is Dan Cryderman, who won the PBSS Championship Point Award Series title with his Pro Bike entry. The PBSS, which began in 2011, and is presented by Wiseco Performance Products, has now completed its 2014 season.

Cryderman, of Thamesville, Ontario, had a strong points lead going into the final event, the Thunder by the Beach weekend at the Grand Bend Motorplex. The Suzuki rider qualified number one in the field and went to the final to make sure he remained the champion.

"All went well over the weekend," said Cryderman after the race. "The bike ran well, the track was in good shape, and we had no problems."

"I want to thank my crew chief Jeremey Van Bastelaar and the rest for their efforts," he continued. "I could not have been here without them."

Cryderman met up with number 10 qualifier Mark Catanzaro in the final round, and while both Pro Bike riders put in their best effort, Catanzaro, of Kimball, Michigan, came out on top to win the race.

"Today was real good," noted Catanzaro after his second PBSS win of the season.

"Actually it was a good weekend and we had no real issues. I have to thank my wife Megan and dad Leo for their help and support," added the Suzuki rider.

Cryderman qualified with a 7.930, 163.78. He took a bye in the first round, and eliminated Pro Sled rider Jessica Tourloukis of Innisfil, Ontario in the next round. He took out number three qualifier Curtis Beck of Milton, Ontario on his Pro Bike Suzuki in the semi-final to meet up with Catanzaro.

Meanwhile Catanzaro eliminated John Orfanidis of Toronto in the first round, Steve Stretch of Woodstock, Ontario in the second round, and Sperios Lazarou of Mississauga, Ontario in the semi-final. All Catanzaro's foes were Pro Bike riders.

With almost identical reaction times at the light, Cryderman broke out of his 8.01 dial-in index by just .005 seconds with an 8.005, 157.61 pass to Catanzaro's winning 8.713, 141.33.

Cryderman finished the PBSS season in first place with 940 points and Catanzaro second with 849 points. Third was Beck with 796; fourth was Pro Biker Ted Glinny of Milton with 794, and Tourloukis rounded out the top five with 744 points.

This fifth and final race of the 2014 season marked the end of the fourth season of PBSS racing. The teams will be honored at the annual Night of Champions Banquet to be held November 8 at the Holiday Inn Burlington.

The next race on the 2014 PMRA schedule is the International Pro Mod Challenge at the SuperChargers Showdown September 26 – 27 at the Maryland Int'l Raceway, Mechanicsville, Maryland. This non-points event will feature the PMRA racing against the Northeast Outlaw Pro Mod Association (NOPMA).

The Pro Modified Racing Association (PMRA), enters its 10th season of popular Pro Modified racing this year, while the Quick 32 Sportsman Series, presented by NAPA Auto Parts, will begin its sixth season, and the Pro Bike & Sled Series (PBSS) presented by Wiseco Performance Products, begins its fourth year of operation. Several times during the race season all three series compete at the same weekend events, offering a colourful, diverse, and exciting package of drag racing action.


For more information, please contact:

Bruce F. Mehlenbacher/ Director of Operations

Telephone: (905) 772-1800 Ext. #22

Cellular: (905) 517-5345

E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Tim Miller/ Media Director

Telephone: (905) 870-1456

E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Read 1209 times

Wally Nesbitt

/ This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

back to top