Marquez at the Circuit of the Americas Marquez at the Circuit of the Americas photo: Repsol Honda

Marquez Leads The Way in Texas

Written by  on Friday, 11 April 2014 20:20

April 11, 2014- Repsol Honda's Marc Marquez, race winner here last year, has made his intentions clear from the start at Austin's Circuit of the Americas. Marc finished this morning's FP1 session at the top of the time sheets with a lap of 2'04.704 on lap 10 of 15, and 0.8s faster than any other rider.

Marc's teammate, Dani Pedrosa, finished the 45 minute session in third place with a fastest lap of 2'05.676 on his final lap of 15.

FP2 will begin at 14h05 local time.


Team Quotes:

Marc Marquez- 1st - 2'04.704

"It's been a positive session and it's nice to start with a good feeling and to find a base setting I'm happy with right from the beginning. This track has a drastic change of direction which is quite difficult if you're not 100% fit, so I could feel it - even after just a few laps. Now we will try to improve this afternoon, I think it will be difficult to maintain the gap going into FP2 and the other riders will for sure be closer"


Dani Pedrosa- 3rd - 2'05.676

"The track grip level seems to be quite good and I'm sure it will improve with more rubber laid down. We still have some work to do to find the right set up and maybe we'll also try the hard rear tyre in FP2. Anyway, I'm happy with this morning's session and we'll keep working in the same direction this afternoon"



Practice results: Grand Prix of The Americas - Round 2

Pos.   Rider                   Num.     Nation       Team                                  Constructor            Time/Gap

1     Marc Marquez          93           ESP       Repsol Honda Team                HONDA               2'04.704

2     Aleix Espargaro        41          ESP       NGM Mobile Forward Racing    YAMAHA             2'05.591

3      Dani Pedrosa          26          ESP        Repsol Honda Team                HONDA               2'05.676

4      Valentino Rossi       46          ITA         Yamaha Factory                      YAMAHA             2'05.972

5      Andrea Dovizioso      4           ITA         Ducati Team                            DUCATI              2'06.279

6      Bradley Smith         38          GBR       Monster Yamaha Tech 3           YAMAHA            2'06.336

7      Cal Crutchlow         35           GBR       Ducati Team                            DUCATI              2'06.433

8      Stefan Bradl             6           GER      LCR Honda MotoGP                  HONDA              2'06.537

9      Andrea Iannone       29           ITA        Pramac Racing                         DUCATI              2'06.602

10     Alvaro Bautista       19          ESP       Go & Fun Honda Gresini           HONDA               2'06.633

11     Pol Espargaro        44           ESP      Monster Yamaha Tech 3           YAMAHA             2'06.680

12     Jorge Lorenzo        99           ESP      Yamaha Factory Racing            YAMAHA             2'06.771

13     Nicky Hayden        69           USA      Drive M7 Aspar                         HONDA               2'07.450

14     Colin Edwards         5           USA      NGM Mobile Forward Racing      YAMAHA             2'07.644

15     Yonny Hernandez   68          COL       Pramac Racing                         DUCATI               2'07.689

16     Karel Abraham       17          CZE       Cardion AB Motoracing              HONDA               2'07.702

17     Hector Barbera         8         ESP        Avintia Racing MotoGP             FTR-KAWASAKI  2'08.150

18     Hiroshi Aoyama        7        JPN         Drive M7 Aspar                         HONDA               2'08.455

19     Scott Redding         45       GBR        Go & Fun Honda Gresini            HONDA               2'08.588

20     Danilo Petrucci         9        ITA          IodaRacing Project                    IODA-SUTER       2'09.646

21     Michael Laverty       70      GBR         Paul Bird Motorsport                  ART & PBM         2'10.206

22     Broc Parkes            23      AUS         Paul Bird Motorsport                  PBM                   2'10.493

23     Mike Di Meglio        63       FRA         Avintia Racing MotoGP              FTR-KAWASAKI  2'11.100



Circuit Information

View circuit page at

Length: 5.513 m / 3.426 miles

Width: 15m

Left corners: 11

Right corners: 9

Longest straight: 1,200 m / 0.746 miles

Constructed: 2012


Pole Position: 2m 03.021s (161.3 km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2013)

Race Lap: 2m 242s (159.7 km/h) Marc Marquez (Honda, 2013)

Race Time: 43m 42.123s (158.9 km/h) (Marc Marquez Honda, 2013)

2013 Race Winner: Marc Marquez (Honda)


Wally Nesbitt

/ This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

back to top