Nate Gagnon is the 2013 Screamin' Eagles Top Fuel Champion Nate Gagnon is the 2013 Screamin' Eagles Top Fuel Champion photo: Patrick Lambie

Gagnon Claims Screamin' Eagles Top Fuel Title at CMDRA Season Finals

Written by  on Monday, 09 September 2013 17:11

September 8, 2013- 2012 UEM Superbike Twin Champion Nate Gagnon can now add the 2013 Screamin' Eagle Top Fuel Championship to his resume.

Arriving at the Canadian Motorcycle Drag Racing Association Season Finals presented by Blackjack's Roadhouse at Edmonton's Castrol Raceway, Gagnon held a narrow lead over reigning Top Fuel Champion Damian Cownden in the season standings, leaving the title up for grabs during the September 7th and 8th event.

Despite losing to ASB Racing's Mike Pelrine in the final elimination round, Gagnon and his Big Kids Racing Team secured the season championship by defeating Cownden in the semi finals.

Al Miles wrapped up a perfect season in the Screamin' Eagle Pro Dragster division, when mechanical issues kept number one qualifier Doug Casson from racing Miles in the final. The accomplishments of Miles' FFR Racing Team were recognized at the yearend banquet where Miles received the Dennis Mark Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement. Long time FFR crew chief, Jerry Gordon was the recipient of the Wrench of the Year award as well as the Trev Deeley Memorial Award recognizing Contribution & Dedication to Canadian Motorcycle Drag Racing.

In the Screamin' Eagle V Rod Destroyer class, Nick Allen won the Season Finals and the 2013 Western Championship by defeating Pete Thomson in the last elimination round. Allen and Thomson would go head to head again in the East vs. West Shootout with Allen taking the victory and an unprecedented 7th consecutive Screamin'  Eagle V-Rod National Title.

Pro Street saw Rob Aston and Ethan Barkley reset the benchmarks for this class in Canada. Trailing in the season standings, Barkley left nothing in the trailer, putting down his best runs of the year including a new CMDRA Pro Street Mile per Hour record of 192.67. Aston's response was equally impressive,  as he achieved new records for 1/8th mile ET and MPH as well as the new CMDRA Pro Street 1/4 mile ET record of 7.429 seconds , enroute to victory and his first CMDRA Pro Street Championship.

Canadian Motorcycle Drag Racing Association – 2013 Award Winners

Series Championships:

Screamin' Eagle Top Fuel:                                            Nate Gagnon (Harley Davidson)

Blackjack's Roadhouse Pro Modified:                     Len Darnell (Suzuki)

Pro Street:                                                                          Rob Aston (Suzuki)

Screamin' Eagle Pro Dragster:                                    Al Miles (Harley Davidson)

Screamin' Eagle V-Rod Destroyer (East):               Peter Thomson (Harley Davidson)

Screamin' Eagle V-Rod Destroyer (West):            Nick Allen (Harley Davidson)

Screamin' Eagle V-Rod Destroyer National:         Nick Allen (Harley Davidson)

Super Bike:                                                                         Len Darnell (Suzuki)

Super Gas:                                                                          Mark Guillet (Harley Davidson)

Hot Harley:                                                                         Kevin Pettitt (Harley Davidson)

Screamin' Eagle Stock XL (883):                                 Kevin Pettitt (Harley Davidson)

Street:                                                                                  Brent Gjaltema (Triumph)

Super Street:                                                                     Laurence Sprangers (Suzuki)

V Pro:                                                                                    Mark Guillet (Harley Davidson)


Trev Deeley Memorial Award-                                    Jerry Gordon

Contribution & Dedication to Canadian

Motorcycle Drag Racing

CMDRA Rookie of the Year                                          Gary Henault

Jon Andres Memorial

Wrench of the Year                                                         Jerry Gordon

In Memory of Dave White

Rick Davie Memorial Award                                        Burke Forster

Sportsman like conduct

On and Off the Track

Best Dressed Team                                                         Tony and Lorrie Clizbe

Sponsored by the CMDRA

Dennis Mark Memorial Award                                   Al Miles

Outstanding Achievement

Most Devoted Volunteer                                             Rob and Donna George

In Memory of Frank Thompson

Most Devoted Volunteer Group:                              Regulators Racing


From: Graeme Jones/ Managing Editor- Inside Motorcycles

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Like us on Facebook:

Follow us on Twitter:




Last modified on Monday, 09 September 2013 17:25

Wally Nesbitt

/ This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

back to top