Michael Dunlop made it a clean sweep of Supersport races on Wednesday. Michael Dunlop made it a clean sweep of Supersport races on Wednesday. Photo courtesy Isle of Man TT

Dunlop achieves fourth TT win

Written by  on Wednesday, 05 June 2013 18:36

Michael Dunlop smashed his own lap and race records in a thrilling second Monster Energy Supersport race on Wednesday afternoon at the 2013 Isle of Man TT Races to remain unbeaten for the week and become only the third rider to win four races in a week.

A stunning final lap of 128.667mph gave the 24-year old a 2.3s victory over long time race leader Bruce Anstey to make it four wins from four races with the second HM Plant Padgetts Honda of John McGuinness in third.

After a 15-minute delay due to a power failure in parc ferme, Anstey was quickest out the traps but, as expected, it was close with Dunlop just 0.4s behind. Brother William was right in contention in third with the fast starting James Hillier again showing well on the run to Glen Helen. He occupied fourth with McGuinness and Dean Harrison close behind.

As the lap progressed, Anstey continued to extend his advantage and an opening lap of 126.476mph gave him a 3.5s lead over Michael Dunlop with William almost three seconds further back in third. McGuinness was up to fourth now ahead of Guy Martin and Harrison.

The duo at the head of the field practically matched each other all the way round the second 37 and ¾ miles but Anstey continued to lead, his lap of 127.817mph just a fraction outside Dunlop’s lap record from 2010. The gap had crept up to 4.47s with the Dunlops in second and third, McGuinness in fourth, Cameron Donald in fifth and Hillier still in sixth. However, the HM Plant/Padgetts crew got Anstey out from the pit stop in super quick time, his lead shooting up to nine seconds.

Dunlop knew he had work to do in the second half of the race and he made his charge immediately, reducing the deficit to 5.6s at Glen Helen. Just as the gap between the top two was decreasing, so was the gap between William Dunlop and McGuinness for third with just 2.4s between them with less than two laps to go. Donald was still in fifth with Hillier in sixth as, once again, the fans were treated to the leading five riders on the road circulating nose to tail.

Going into the final lap, Anstey still held sway by just over four seconds and he led on the road too but with Dunlop now having clear track, having passed McGuinness, Hillier and Donald, he ate into the gap at all of the timing points.

He hit the front for the first time at Ballaugh, his lead now 1.5s but he had to work all the way to the chequered flag and it needed that sensational new lap record to see off the strong challenge of Anstey, the difference at the end of 150 miles of racing just 2.3s. Dunlop’s race record was also a staggering 28s inside the previous best.

Michael Rutter and MotoCzysz took a thrilling victory in the SES TT Zero race in glorious conditions on the Isle of Man Wednesday morning, officially breaking the previous clean emissions lap record that he set last year.

The Midlands rider smashed the record unofficially earlier in the week during practice on the MotoCzysz 2013 bike, but only narrowly took victory from Mugen rider McGuinness. Rutter's new record official is a time of 20:38.46 (109.675mph), beating his time last year (21:45.33/104.056) by over a minute.

McGuinness was not far behind Rutter, lapping with a time of 20:40.13 (109.527mph) on the Mugen machine. Robert Barber, the 2009 race winner, took the final podium place on the Ohio State University machine, which lapped the Mountain course in 25:02.467 (90.403mph). Rutter’s American MotoCzysz teammate, Mark Miller unfortunately retired at Ballaugh Bridge with a broken gear box.

For the second time at the 2013 Isle of Man TT Races, fuelled by Monster Energy, the Sure Formula Two sidecar event saw debut winners with former World Champions Ben and Tom Birchall leading from start to finish to take their first victory around the Mountain Course.

Having been forced to retire from Saturday’s three-lap encounter when leading, the Nottinghamshire brothers made no mistakes this time around and took a 17.3s victory from Dave Molyneux/Patrick Farrance with Conrad Harrison/Mike Aylott having to settle for third on this occasion.

--From Isle of Man TT


Read 756 times

John Hopkins

/ This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

back to top