Leon Camier aboard is BMW S1000RR is among the riders competing for the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy Leon Camier aboard is BMW S1000RR is among the riders competing for the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy

BMW Motorrad Race Trophy Attracting World Wide Attention

Written by  on Wednesday, 14 May 2014 12:47

Munich,14th May 2014. What are the latest news from the BMW Motorrad Motorsport community? In the first two weeks since the new BMW Motorrad Race Trophy was launched, many privateer BMW Motorrad riders from all over the world have already submitted their registrations.

The initial standings can be found attached to this press release. The BMW S 1000 RR once again tasted success in Imola, Italy, last weekend: Leon Camier (UK) and the BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team claimed a brace of victories in the EVO class at the fourth round of the 2014 FIM Superbike World Championship (WSBK) – thanks in part to the support of the experts from BMW Motorrad Motorsport.

Huge interest in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy.

BMW Motorrad is the first manufacturer to offer an racing project with a common points system for private riders on every continent: the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. Entry is open to BMW Motorrad privateers appearing in various international and national championships all over the world. They score points towards the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy based on their individual results. At the end of the year, the world's best BMW Motorrad privateer will be crowned. A total prize purse of 100,000 Euros is up for grabs in the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. Entry is free.

The competition has received a huge response within the global BMW Motorrad Motorsport community. In the first two weeks since the official launch, 28 privateer BMW Motorrad riders have already registered for the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. They come from 11 different countries in Europe, Asia and South America.

The season is already underway in some series, including the FIM Superbike World Championship, the FIM Endurance World Championship and the FIM Sidecar World Championship, as well as some national superbike championships. In these series, races have already been run in a total of ten countries on five continents. In other championships, such as the Canadian Superbike Championship, the season is yet to begin.

FIM Superbike World Championship in Imola.

Imola hosted the fourth round of the 2014 FIM Superbike World Championship last weekend. Among those at the Italian circuit were the experts from BMW Motorrad Motorsport, who worked together with the customer teams to prepare and set up their BMW racing bikes. And there were two reasons to celebrate on Sunday: Leon Camier (UK) won the EVO class in both races on an RR run by the BMW Motorrad Italia SBK Team. In the overall results, made up of the WSBK and EVO classes, Camier finished eleventh and twelfth. Camier has been standing in for Sylvain Barrier (FR) since the second round of the season, as the Frenchman continues to recover from a serious injury. Barrier was also at the track in Imola, where he followed the race from the pit lane.

BMW Team Toth lines up with two BMW S 1000 RR in the 2014 WSBK: Imre Toth (HU) is riding a WSBK version, whilst Peter Sebestyen (HU) is on an EVO version. Toth came home 20th and 19th in Imola. Sebestyen was eighth in the EVO class in his first race (19th overall) but failed to finish race two.

FIM Superstock 1000 Cup in Imola.

The third race of the season in the FIM Superstock 1000 Cup was also held as part of the Superbike World Championship weekend in Imola. This time, five BMW S 1000 RR and BMW HP4 riders were in action. Robert Muresan (RO / H-Moto Team) finished eighth, followed closely by Federico D'Annunzio (IT / FDA Racing Team) who came home ninth to claim a top-ten finish. Riccardo Cecchini (IT / H-Moto Team) was 22nd. Remo Castellarin (IT / Team Motoxracing) and Denni Schiavoni (IT / 2R Racing) failed to finish.


BMW Motorrad Race Trophy 2014 – The current standings.

The BMW Motorrad privateers already registered have so far contested a total of 49 races in their respective championships. Based on the results they achieved in these races, here are the first standings in the 2014 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy:

Pos.       Name (Nat.)                                     Series                         Points

Bastien Mackels (BE)                                  IDM / EWC                      52,75

Björn Stuppi (DE)                                            EWC                           42,353.              

Hayato Takada (JP)                                         MFJ                            42,354.              

Federico D'Annunzio (IT)                             WSTK / CIV                      40,00

Matthieu Lussiana (FR)                                  BRSBK                         39,50

Denni Schiavoni (IT)                                          CIV                            30,00

Luca Conforti (IT)                                              CIV                            26,258.              

Markus Reiterberger (DE)                                  IDM                           24,009.              

Leon Bovee (NL)                                               IDM                           21,7510.            

Jörg Steinhausen (DE)                                     SWC                          21,60

Luciano Ribodino (AR)                                    BRSBK                       16,50

Robert Muresan (RO)                                      WSTK                        16,00

Lucy Glöckner (DE)                                          IDM                          15,00

Stefan Nebel (DE)                                             IDM                         14,25

Kohji Teramoto (JP)                                          MFJ                         14,00

16. Daniel Rivas Fernandez (ES/CEV/12,00),

17. Daisaku Sakai (JP/MFJ/12,00),

18. Uwe Gürck (DE/SWC/11,88),

19. Thomas Hainthaler (DE/IDM/10,50),

20. Alessio Velini (IT/CIV/10,00),

21. Lucas Teodoro (BR/BRSBK/9,00),

22. Lucas Barros (BR/BRSBK/7,50),

23. Shinya Takeishi (JP/MFJ/6,00),

24. Imre Toth (HU/WSBK/4,00),

25. Peter Sebestyen (HU/WSBK/1,50),

26. Filip Altendorfer (DE/EWC/0,00),

27. Florian Bauer (DE/EWC/0,00), 28.

Rico Löwe (DE/EWC/0,00)

It is still possible to register on the website www.bmw-motorrad.de/motorsport

The deadline for registrations for the current season is not until 2nd November 2014. Regardless of when the registrations are received, each participant will receive points for all the race events he/she has competed in since the start of the scoring period on 15th February 2014. Past races are also included.

Entrants can score points in 15 different international and national championships and race events around the world. A complex and compensative format is used to award points for the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy – this guarantees that every participant can amass enough points over the course of the season, regardless of whether their respective series consists of five races or 26.

FROM: BMW Motorrad

BMW Motorrad Motorsport website: www.bmw-motorrad.com/motorsport


Last modified on Wednesday, 14 May 2014 13:01

Wally Nesbitt

/ This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

back to top